Faculty council

Duties and responsibilities

In accordance to Article 31 of the Bavarian Higher Education Act (German only) the faculty council is responsible for a faculty’s issues that are not the responsibility of the faculty’s dean or another faculty committee. The faculty council shall limit its deliberations to matters of fundamental importance and, as far as the nature of the matter permits, shall allocate them to the dean in general or in individual cases for settlement.

The Faculty Council for Computer Science and Business Information Systems comes together at least twice per semester. Its decisions include:

  • Study plans for all degree programmes offered in our Faculty
  • Block lists of general electives (AWPF) for students in our Faculty
  • Reducing the teaching load for individuals who take over duties in the context of the Faculty’s self-administration
  • Applications for research and other sabbaticals
  • Composition of examination committees as well their heads
  • Exam dates outside the regular examination period at FHWS
  • Subject areas of new professorships
  • Composition of professorial appointment committees

The faculty council elects the dean, the deputy dean, the dean of studies as well as the women’s affairs officer. In accordance with the study and examination regulations of our degree programmes, the faculty council also appoints the programme advisors and the internship coordinators for the degree programmes.

Composition and term of office of the faculty council are derived from Article 9 Sections 1 and 4 of the Statutes of FHWS (only available in German).

Composition of the faculty council

The faculty council is elected biennially. The current term of office ends on 30 September 2023. The election of the new faculty council will take place at the beginning of June 2023.

Elected members

Representatives of higher education teaching staff

  • Prof. Dr. Tobias Aubele
  • Prof. Dr. Arndt Balzer
  • Prof. Dr. Nicholas Müller
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf Schillinger
  • Prof. Dr. Frank-Michael Schleif
  • Prof. Dr. Kristin Weber

Representatives of academic staff

  • Tobias Fertig
  • Leonhard Hösch

Representatives of non-academic staff

  • Christian Ziegler

Student representatives

  • Angelina Krapf
  • Hannes Braun

Ex officio members

The Faculty’s Dean

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Braun

The Faculty’s Deputy Dean

  • Prof. Dr. Eva Wedlich

The Faculty’s Dean of Studies

  • Prof. Dr. Frank Hennermann

The Faculty’s Women’s Affairs Officer

  • Prof. Dr. Isabel John